Vive Magazine

 

BRIEF/ EXPLORE COUNTRIES THAT CONTAIN SEVERE POVERTY AND FIND A WAY TO HELP PEOPLE EMPATHISE WITH THEIR PLIGHT/ In my brief project I learnt that as a designer you should develop insight into the problem you are trying to solve and from there you can distill it down into a design that communicates well with the reader. OBJECTIVE / SET OUT TO AFRICA AND OBSERVE THE PEOPLE/ Rather than jump into an answer I wanted to collect assets and see what the people were like and then find a creative solution. FINDINGS/ I was confronted with extreme poverty, malnutrition and refugees, but amongst this tribulation I saw something that intrigued me. I noticed people had a sense style, which oozed out both confidence and pride. This gave me the idea of capturing these stylish people and presenting them with dignity.

I visited a refugee camp, health centers and villages. On a cannon 5D Mark ii, I photographed countless stylish people along the way. I did not to expect to see such confidence and exuberance in the way people carry themselves in such conditions. FINDINGS/ Whilst capturing these remarkable people, I was also drawn to various details such as the patterns on their clothing and signage on the road signs.

OBJECTIVE / LOOKING AT THE CASE STUDIES MAKE A LIST OF KEY WORDS TO PUT INTO YOUR MAGAZINE SPREADS/ In my previous project I learnt the art of writing a good brief is about distilling all the information down. I put this into practice as I selected resources that could communicate effectively. One specific resource I had was the case studies of the people in Niger. These case studies had words that could assist me in structuring my design. These words had to work alongside the images I captured and also draw an audience in. I found that that a word like ‘tough’ can have a double meaning. In youth culture ‘tough’ can have the meaning of being able to hold one’s own on the streets, but in the context of a child in Niger it can mean that the person is in a ‘tough situation’. By using this double meaning the reader is drawn by thinking that the spread is about trouble on the streets and attracted by the style, then once engaged the learn in the article that the person is living in poverty and hopefully find sympathy with the subject after reading their case study. FINDINGS/ I compiled a list of words that struck me from the case studies and narrowed it down to four words that would be key in structuring the design for my magazine spreads.

 

USING REFERENCE AND IDEAS, DEVELOP A DOUBLE SPREAD FOR A MAGAZINE/ When constructing the layouts for the spread I started to think of various connections to the word dream. I thought of examples such as, daydream, zone out and sleep. Personally when daydreaming I find myself ‘doodling’ on a piece of paper. Using techniques such as doodling and collages I began to construct the layout for my magazine spread Result/ I often found myself over complicated my designs by mixing a range of techniques together. At times the overall composition turned out well but where ineffective when communicating the overall message.

 

For an affective design I had to carefully consider choosing the right typeface. I often found this process difficult and it pushed me to manipulate the typography producing many unexpected results, which turned out strong. Result/ just by focusing on typography alone I found the type beginning to sit with the image comfortably and effectively.

 

USING REFERENCE AND IDEAS, DEVELOP A DOUBLE SPREAD FOR A MAGAZINE/ Delving into my reference folder I developed a range of ideas around the word Tough. The pictures themselves where already powerful, so my job was to compliment the images with strong design. Result/ I attempted various techniques like manipulating the image and also taking apart the entire image. My most affective result came out when I combined patterns with the image.

 

USING REFERENCE AND IDEAS, DEVELOP A DOUBLE SPREAD FOR A MAGAZINE/ As I started to build the design I often fell into common clichés causing me to step back and analyse the image and message more in depth. I wanted to create a nice clean composition that communicates well, but I was aware that my typography had to be strong.

USING REFERENCE AND IDEAS, DEVELOP A COVER FOR A MAGAZINE/ I was aware a magazine cover should be strong enough to stand out and also draw people to pick up the magazine. What I needed was a strong logo and powerful image. I decided to use the image of the boy with his arms crossed. Initially the name of the magazine was ‘Survive’ but I shortened it to Vive, which means ‘live long’ in French. I began to play with various fonts and logos, manipulating the word Vive. I also kept in mind techniques I had used on my spreads such as adding patterns.

 



Leave a Reply

